Just a Life Update

As it has been a while since I have posted regularly, I figured it would be a good idea to give a general life update.

I am still living somewhere in southern Indiana, and still working in a warehouse wasting my days doing warehouse things. Such as driving a forktruck, operating a bridge crane, moving railcars, arguing with truckers, and handling inventory. The work itself is easy, but I am bored out of my mind daily. Given the long commute, lack of upward mobility, not letting me change shifts, and the fact they don’t allow music on the workfloor; I’ve have doing some job hunting. Hopefully I’ll find some in that fits my background rather than something that just pays bills. It’s a shame that lab and QC jobs go quick in my area.

As I have been low-key jobhunting, I have also been thinking of moving. I’ve been looking around other places to maybe relocate. Other than being comfortably settled, there isn’t much holding me here. If not to some new place, I would like to move out of my apartment at least. Some more room and a backyard to actually use would be nice. My living room is my bedroom, and my bedroom is my hobby room/office. My landlord won’t let me tear up the yard, so my gardening is limited to planter pots on the small patio. Julie-Dog could use a fenced in back yard. I’d like to buy a house in a few years, maybe.
Due to work slowing down and hours not being so extreme, I’ve had some time to work on things I enjoy. I got some plants in pots outside that I’m caring for, and some inside. I have 2 kinds of sage, some dill, a thai basil and thai pepper, some rosemary, some unusual sweet potatoes, lemon balm, bleeding hearts, and I’m germinating some biquinho pepper plants. I’ll be adding some more soon.

I’ve been doing weekly meal-prep again, and I intend to do some canning soon. Figured it would be good to stock up for winter given how everything is looking out there. I have plenty of dry goods, but could use some more greens and flavorful things. Meal-prepping has caused me to drop a few pounds. I’m still fat, but being able to fit in the pants in my closet that have been left lonely and neglected is rather nice. It’s mostly so I have something to eat to work other than vending machine garbage, but the weight loss and flexing on my coworkers whos’ women don’t cook for them are nice added benefits.

With my weekends open again, I’ve gotten back to doing art on a weekly basis. I got something I’ll be posting Tuesday or Wednesday next week. Still sorting out a schedule, but so long as I get something art-wise posted once a week I’ll be happy. I haven’t yet figured out how I’m going to schedule WIPs yet; maybe post them early on SubscribeStar, and later here. I also got a side project that I’m working on that I may start posting about, but it will be a little while before I do so. It requires quite a lot of coding, and I’m not the best at it. I’m still in the planning phase, so I haven’t done any related art yet except incredibly sloppy copies that I’d rather not share.

I’ve also decided to start getting out of the house more often. It would be convenient if work allowed me to switch to evening shift, but I do with what I’m given. It used to be that I’d take a monthly outing to some place within driving distance that seemed interesting, and I wanted to get back to doing that. With gas being nearly 5$ I have to look a lot closer, but there is still plenty to do. There are more than a handful of places and events that I have overlooked that I should try to experience. Earlier today I went to a zoo that I haven’t been to in a while, and last week a local art gallery. I may post a few of the pictures from the zoo.

As for my deeper personal life, I am still single. It’s mildly upsetting, but understandable; I am modest at best and also don’t get much exposure to male peers. My dad and brother who are my only real family are the same as ever, and still as annoying as ever. But they are family. I don’t have many friends, but I’ve been trying to spend more time with them. I made a new friend at work who has a lot of the same hobbies and a chill personality. I have a posse of 4 friends now. Julie-Dog and my cat are just as fine as ever. Not much else has changed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: